Greater Thetford Development Partnership (GTDP)

The Greater Thetford Development Partnership has been set up by Breckland District Council as an advisory body to oversee the Thetford Sustainable Extension, also known as Kingsfleet. The Partnership is, as least in part, a replacement for the former Moving Thetford Forward, which has now been dissolved. Despite this new body having no formal powers, it is likely to have a lot of influence over the direction of the upcoming developments in Thetford.

It is therefore rather disappointing that few local organisations are directly represented on the Board, and initially Breckland Council planned to exclude the press and public from the meetings. The latter was quickly reversed, but there are still issues with transparency, as meetings are not always well advertised, and minutes and papers are not always published in a timely fashion. This website is an attempt to make the workings of the Partnership more transparent to the local residents it should be serving.

Full Terms of Reference of the GTDP Board.

Board Members

Organisation Representative Position in Organisation Email Twitter
GTDP Independent Chair Graham Jermyn graham.jermyn@(nospam)ncsgrp.co.uk
Norfolk County Council Cllr Denis Crawford County Councillor for Thetford East denis.crawford@(nospam)norfolk.gov.uk
Tig Armstrong Infrastructure & Economic Growth Manager tig.armstrong@(nospam)norfolk.gov.uk
Breckland District Council Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen Elected Councillor sam.chapman-allen@(nospam)breckland.gov.uk
Rob Walker Executive Director Place rob.walker@(nospam)breckland-sholland.gov.uk
Thetford Town Council Cllr Terry Jermy Town Councillor for Burrell Ward terry.jermy@(nospam)googlemail.com @CllrTerryJermy
Croxton Parish Council Cllr Robert King Elected Councillor & Chair croxtonparish@(nospam)gmail.com
Brettenham & Kilverstone Parish Council Cllr Tony Poulter Elected Councillor & Chair mail@(nospam)ampglebe.co.uk
Thetford Business Forum Mr Mike Brown Committee Member mike@(nospam)mb-p.co.uk @MikeBrownMBP
Norfolk Police C/Insp Paul Wheatley Local Commander for Breckland @CInspWheatley
Crown Estate & Pigeon Investments Ltd Mr Will Van Cutsem Investment Director (Pigeon) w.vancutsem@(nospam)pigeon.co.uk
Flagship Homes Adam Broadway Director (Development) adam.broadway@(nospam)flagship-group.co.uk
South Norfolk Clinical Commissioning Group Rob Cooper Head of Integrated Commissioning robert.cooper4@(nospam)nhs.net
Norfolk Education & Learning Chris Hey Head of Place Planning and Organisation chris.hey@(nospam)norfolk.gov.uk
GTDP Community Sub-Group Robert Whittaker Sub-Group Chair rjw-gtdp@(nospam)mathmos.net @rjw62
GTDP Inward Investment Sub-Group Robert Campbell Sub-Group Chair robert.campbell@(nospam)breckland.gov.uk
GTDP Planning & Projects Sub-Group Richard Doleman Sub-Group Chair richard.doleman@(nospam)norfolk.gov.uk

Sub Groups

Meetings, agendas, papers and minutes

The Board initially decided to hold its meetings behind closed doors and only publish its minutes once they had been approved at the following meeting. This would prevent public scrutiny and meaningful input into the Board's business. Following pressure from myself and some Board members, the board had a change of heart at its second meeting, and resolved to operate in a more transparent manner.

Agendas, minutes and papers for the Board meetings should be available from the Breckland Committee Page for the GTDP. Things are getting better now, but the documents are still not always uploaded there promptly.

16th June 2017 (10am–12am Church on the Way)

21 April 2017 (10am–11am Private Session; 11am–12pm Public Session; Charles Burrell Centre, Staniforth Road, Thetford)

17 February 2017 (Public Forum 10am–11am; Board meeting 11:30am–1:30pm)

16 December 2016 (private workshop)

21 October 2016 (10am–12pm, Bell Hotel, Thetford)

19 August 2016 (10am–12pm, Charles Burrell Centre)

24 June 2016 (open forum 10:00–11:00, main meeting 11:30–13:30; Kings House)

14 April 2016 (10am - 12pm, The Bell Hotel)

15th February 2016 (10am)

2nd December 2015 (2:30pm, Carnegie Rooms, Thetford)

2nd October 2015

3rd August 2015

Terms of Reference

Press Coverage

Criticism over advertising of Greater Thetford Development Partnership sub-group meeting
2016-09-16, Thetford and Brandon Times
Roundabout funding brings Thetford Enterprise Park a step closer
2016-08-04, Thetford and Brandon Times
Thetford board under fire for lack of publicity as one member of public comes to meeting
2016-04-19, Thetford and Brandon Times
Car parking and traffic issues in Thetford to be looked at, partnership meeting hears
2015-12-02, Thetford and Brandon Times
Enterprise park made Priority
2015-10-14, Thetford and Brandon Times
Board holds first meeting
2015-09-09, Thetford and Brandon Times
"Lessons to be learned" from Moving Thetford Forward, says councillor as Breckland backs new partnership
2015-07-15, Eastern Daily Press
Breckland's Cabinet supports creation of new growth partnership for Thetford area
2015-07-15, Breckland Council press release
Fears raised over new Thetford Greater Development Partnership board
2015-05-27, Eastern Daily Press.

Thetford Sustainable Urban Expansion

A large part of the GTDP's work will undoubtedly concern the Thetford Sustainable Urban Expansion, a large development of around 5000 new homes to the north and east of the town, under the name of Kingsfleet. Links to information and resources about this development can be found below.